Flora-fauna habitats

Flora-fauna habitats, or FFH areas for short, are special European protected areas. They were designated in accordance with the Fauna-Flora-Habitat Directive and serve to protect plants (flora), animals (fauna) and habitats (habitats). The condition of the FFH areas is constantly monitored and documented. From this we can deduce what tailor-made protection and gentle human use can look like. There are currently nine designated FFH areas in the Vulkaneifel Nature and UNESCO Geopark.

To the FFH areas


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.